Deal!

 

Sign up for one of my classes (dharma art, meditation 101) by the end of the week, and get a free dharma book!

Contact me via the site, or email me.

By Friday night!

 

 

What book, you might ask? Could be…

Tibetan Book of Living and Dying

Sun of Wisdom

Practice of Lojong

No Time to Lose!

 

"Science Friday" Recommendations

"Science Friday" Recommendations (Photo credit: LollyKnit)

About jakekarlins

Aspiring writer and artist, dharma practitioner, yogi.

Posted on April 18, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Carol A. Bye-MacLeod

    I am interested in signing up for the Poetry of the Sages class.
    I also had a question. Is the Meditation 101 class based on Jon Kabat-Zinn’s version of Minfulness Meditation? I am searching for a group that follows his or a similar meditation base (I realize that Mindfulness is considered the heart of Buddhist meditation) .
    I grabbed one of the coupons on a Tannery Info board for 50% off any classes starting in June. And I would like to get in on the Dharma book deal as well.
    Peace, love, laughter, and light
    Carol

    • Great!

      Please help spread the word about these classes, if you don’t mind. I’m trying to get more people signed up (really so we can have good discussions and real classes).

      The classes are not based on the work of Jon Kabat-Zinn. He seems like an interesting guy who’s made a huge impact on how meditation is integrating into Western culture. I haven’t read any of his books, though, or studied via his programs. I’m a student in the Tibetan tradition (Kagyu). The meditation technique I like to start with, and emphasize, is “mindfulness-awareness” or “shamatha-vipashyana.”

      That being said, this technique is very similar to the mindfulness technique taught in many other schools of Buddhism. So, yes, and no.

      Glad you grabbed a coupon. I was wondering if people would notice those!

      There’s a dharma book deal? I’d forgotten about that. I have a book on Dharma Art I could give you. An old friend works for Shambhala Publishing, and passed along some free books, so I’d be glad to pass this book along to you.

      thanks again

      Jake

      jake.karlins@gmail.com

      (call or email for directions to the practice space)

Leave a Reply

rinchenphuntsokblog

Sharing my translations of the teachings of a great Tibetan teacher

My Meditation Challenge

Waking Up in the Dream

Fit Body Freaks

All Things Health and Fitness

Jack Saunsea

Making a living by giving.

Darkroomstory

Photography by Manos,

Tinfoil Hat Lady

Helping You Think Things Differently.

Detach Yourself...

(R)evolution of Consciousness & (Counter)culture

@meditationstuff (Since 2013; 100+ posts; 50,000+ words and counting...)

Meditation and transformative practice vis-à-vis rationality, phenomenology, neuroscience and {clinical, developmental, evolutionary} psychology because humans.

Colorful Lamentations

Personal musings

Advayavada Buddhism

ON COURSE WITH NATURE.

URBAN F

REVIEWS BY ABBIE

The Pizza Cleanse

Pizza for Optimal Fitness

